FTII Protest: Dibakar Banerjee And 8 Others Return National Awards

Here's the latest update from the world of Bollywood. We bet you wouldn't want to miss this. Read on for details... Express their displeasure over government's indifferent attitude

1313 Reads |  

FTII Protest: Dibakar Banerjee And 8 Others Return National Awards
Hours after the students of Film & Television Institute of India (FTII) called off their strike and returned to classes (Just In: FTII students call off strike after 139 days, October 28), the story has taken a fresh turn.

Filmmaker Dibakar Bannerjee and eight others have returned their National Awards as a mark of protest in support of the FTII students. Director Harshwardhan Kulkarni, documentary filmmakers Anand Patwardhan, Nishtha Jain, editors Paresh Kamdar and Kirti Nakhwa, Nishtha Jain, Lipika Singh and Hari Nair are the others.

The protest began in June when actor and BJP politician Gajendra Chauhan was appointed the Chairperson of the premier institute (FTII students on indefinite strike against new Chairman, June 12). The student representatives met the Information and Broadcasting ministry officials several times but to no avail.

A month ago, the students and some key advisors including Vidya Balan signed on a document which was sent to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Pranab Mukherjee's offices.

Since the consequent meeting didn't bear results, the filmmakers have stuck to their word and returned the awards.

Do you think it is unfortunate that filmmakers are returning the honours bestowed upon them? Should the Government take stock of the situation before it is too late? Tell us on facebook.com/SpotboyE and twitter.com/SpotboyEtheshow with #FTIIProtest.

Thumbnail Image Source: thewiire & bolegaindia