Earth Reaches Closest To Sun Today! Time, Date And Where To What THIS Super-sized Solar Spectacle; Here’s All You Need To Know!

The word perihelion comes from the Greek language, ‘peri’ meaning ‘around or near’ and ‘helios’ meaning ‘sun’

10878 Reads |  

Earth Reaches Closest To Sun Today! Time, Date And Where To What THIS Super-sized Solar Spectacle; Here’s All You Need To Know!
Earthlings we hope you are all set to witness the solar spectacle as the Earth will reach the closest to the sun on January 4, 2023. This phenomenon is known as perihelion when the earth and sun are at their closest point in the orbit.

Incidentally, the word perihelion comes from the Greek language, ‘peri’ meaning ‘around or near’ and ‘helios’ meaning ‘sun’. 

The phenomenon will occur today and it is apparently the much-awaited moment for earth observation and scientific research to witness the significant celestial happening. Meanwhile, the farthest point is referred to as Aphelion.

Earth which is known to possess an elliptical orbit moves closer and then farther away from the sun over the course of a year. 

Earth’s Perihelion is observed two weeks after the December Solstice and on this day, the orbit brings it about 3 million miles closer to the sun than at any other time of year. The average distance from the sun to the Earth is 93 million miles, but during perihelion, the Earth moves 2 million miles closer to the sun.

This phenomenon gives Earth more sunlight than usual resulting to a surge in temperature in winter from the months of December to February in the Northern Hemisphere. 

TIME  AND DATE TO WATCH EARTH AT PERIHELION 

This year Earth will be at perihelion on January 4, 2023, at 21:47 IST (16:17 Universal Time, 11:17 a.m. EST and 8:17 a.m. PST). 

Currently, the centre of Earth will be 91,403,034 miles (147,098,925 kilometres) from the centre of the Sun, which is equivalent to 0.9833 astronomical units (au). 

WHERE TO WATCH

The Earth will be closest to the sun at different times depending on the time zones on January 4, and in India, it will be recorded at 8.50 pm IST. Check out this link for live streaming of how Earth looks from space during this time.

Image Source: Instagram