Navratri 2019 Colours List: A Quick Guide To 9 Colours Of Navratri To Wear This Year On 9 Different Days

Navratri 2019 is here already and here’s a quick guide all to the nine colours that should be worn on different days and are a must-have in your wardrobe!

2707 Reads |  

Navratri 2019 Colours List: A Quick Guide To 9 Colours Of Navratri To Wear This Year On 9 Different Days
The most awaited, celebrated and significant festivals of India- Navratri is finally here! Well, it is a known fact that this auspicious occasion is celebrated for nine nights, during which all the devotees worship and offer prayers to Goddess Durga. Needless to say, it is that time of the year when Indians gather up to celebrate this festival with utmost zeal, enthusiasm and a lot of Garba - dandiya. Navratri 2019, that has kickstarted today, will go on till 7th October.

And, just like every other Indian festival, Navratri, too, has several rituals, one of which is following different colour codes on each day till its ninth day to honour Maa Durga. It is believed that wearing that specific colour on the designated day brings a lot of prosperity and good luck. And having the right list, on the right time, can be a lot more fun. So, here’s a list of all the nine colours and its significance to make your wardrobe ready for Navratri 2019.

Day 1: Orange

This year, Navratri will commence on a vibrant note, as Orange – the colour of energy and happiness – comes first on the list. On the first day, Goddess Shailputra, also known as an incarnation of Maa Parvati, is worshipped.

Day 2: White

White is the colour for Navratri 2019’s second day. On this day, Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped. As already known, white colour stands for peace and prosperity.

Day 3: Red

The colour for the third day of the festival is Red as due to Parvati and Shiva’s marriage, the invocation of Chandraghanta falls on the third day. Red stands for bravery.

Day 4: Royal Blue

For Navratri’s fourth day, Royal Blue is the colour. Devotees worship Goddess Kushmanda, who is believed to improve the health of the earth and bestow wealth and strength.

Day 5: Yellow

Navratri’s fifth day is all about going bright as Yellow is the colour. On this day, devotees seek blessings from Goddess Skandamata. Colour yellow brings happiness, power, and brightness.

Day 6: Green

On its sixth day, devotees offer prayers to Goddess Katyayani and Green is the colour, as it stands for new beginnings and growth.

Day 7: Grey

Navratri’s seventh day is also referred to as Saptami, as Kalaratri, the most violent form of Maa Durga is worshipped on this day. The colour grey stands for the strength of transformation.

Day 8: Purple

The eight-day of Navratri is also known as Ashtami and honours Goddess Mahagauri. It is firmly believed that Mahagauri is the Goddess of intelligence and peace. Purple stands for calm and peace.

Day 9: Peacock Green

The final day of Navratri honours Maa Siddhidhatri and is also known as Navami. It is believed that Goddess Siddhidatri carries all the Siddhi on her four hands.

So folks, Navratri 2019 ready?

image source: instagram/aliaabhatt,sonamkapoor,deepikapadukone
They say the best things in life are free! India’s favourite music channels 9XM, 9X Jalwa, 9X Jhakaas & 9X Tashan are available Free-To-Air.  Make a request for these channels from your Cable, DTH or HITS operator.